Agglomerations register

Go to the content
Go to the main menu
Agglomerations register
under Protection From Environmental Noise Act


The Protection From Environmental Noise Act provided the Minister of Regional Development and Public Works to arrange for the establishment and maintenance of a register of agglomerations. The register is made to document the main characteristics of agglomerations. According to this law agglomerations are settlements with a population of over 100,000 inhabitants. Currently settlements that meet this requirement are Sofia, Plovdiv, Varna, Burgas, Ruse, Stara Zagora, Pleven.

The Register of agglomerations includes basic data for agglomerations - name, Unified Classifier of administrative-territorial and territorial units code - EKATTE, location, construction area boundaries, population, population density, protected areas, parks, major routes of the primary road network, railways, tramways, airports, ports. The necessary data for the register is provided by the municipalities at the request of the Ministry of Regional Development and Public Works.

Strategic cards for noise in the environment are elaborated for the agglomerations. They identify areas with exceedence of a noise indicator, which can cause adverse effects on human health. Action plans for management, prevention and reduction of noise in agglomerations are to be elaborated

Annually by the end of February, according to the register, the Minister of Regional Development and Public Works determines agglomerations subject to the development of strategic noise cards and action plans and immediately inform the local authorities of the need for their development.

Designed by ИНАТ - Ивайло Божинов ЕТ (